MOMMA LIPS PRINTS – MELANIN MOMMA


MELANIN noun
a natural dark pigment occurring in the hair, skin, and iris of the eye in people and animals. It is responsible for tanning of skin exposed to sunlight.


If you follow my personal Instagram, you should know about my side hustle, Momma Lips Prints. If not, click that link & check me out! Links for all my platforms will be at the bottom of the entry too 🙂

img_8040img_8039img_8041

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But let’s talk about Melanin Momma. As a woman of color, there’s not much representation of us in the media as successful people, let alone positive role models or Mothers. After having Jackson, it quickly became obvious to me that most, if not all, Mom products or Mom based ideas are, for lack of a better word, whitewashed.

img_6964
Myself & Jackson in Washington


Now, please don’t take this the wrong way. IN NO WAY AM I BASHING ON WHITE MOMS! Don’t get it it twisted. I’m simply stating a personal observation.



As a response, I wanted to be part of a growing movement. Thus, Melanin Momma was born (see what I did there? Born because Jackson was born. Get it? Ok..)

The phrase “Melanin Momma” is not meant to be for “black Moms only”, pretty much setting us back decades. It’s meant to bring attention to us Momma’s who aren’t white. Plain & simple. WE EXIST.

img_7663
Nicole in California

The diversity in advertisements is limited – it’s improving everyday but I felt the need to also do my part. When I first launched the concept, I did receive a small amount of backlash from those awesome internet trolls saying it was sad & disappointing that I was targeting a specific group of individuals rather than keeping it open & general. For the record, every single one of them was 1. white & 2. a random person. It was disappointing to hear that because they obviously don’t see the current prejudice that already exists but that’s for a different time..

I WAS excited to get such a large response of support! Seriously, the ones who reached out saying they supported what I wanted to do – you guys are the rockstars! To those that have purchased from me, you’re validating my vision & I can’t say thank you enough! Check out these ladies rocking their T’s across the country!

img_8043
Angelique in Kansas
img_7997
Keara in Florida

My T is available for purchase for $20 at my Etsy page – feel free to swing by, make a purchase for yourself or a friend & leave a review! Because this is a brand new business, I have limited sizes but if this goes well, I will be making another order of T’s of a different design on a higher quality T 🙂

img_7851
Elecia in Michigan

& because I’m sure people are wondering & I’m just going to put it out there, you do not need to be black to buy this shirt LOL. You don’t have to have a brown baby, have a tan or any of that nonsense in or to purchase this. Get it for yourself, for a friend or just to support me! Just putting it out there! 😀

So there you have it! Melanin Momma isn’t meant to hurt people’s feelings or make others feel uncomfortable. It’s simply making a statement that we are here & we are proud! I hope this helps others feel more comfortable in their skin because it’s the only one you have so you BETTER be proud ❤

img_5902

 


 

Personal IG: @momma_lips
Business IG: @mommalipsprints
Etsy page: Momma Lips Prints

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 12.02.15 PM

Leave a Reply

